Media Center

India: Agreements between AREVA and NPCIL for the Supply of Two EPR Reactors and Fuel for 25 Years

Press Release

December 06, 2010

December 6, 2010

In the presence of Indian Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh, French President Nicolas Sarkozy and Dr. Srikumar Banerjee, Chairman of India’s Atomic Energy Commission, AREVA and Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) today signed major agreements for the construction of two EPR™ reactors, the first of a series of six, at Jaitapur in the western state of Maharashtra, and for the supply of fuel for 25 years.

The agreements were signed by Dr. S.K. Jain, Chairman and Managing Director of NPCIL and Anne Lauvergeon, CEO of AREVA.

These agreements set:

  • the contractual conditions;
  • the industrial scheme for the project;
  • the breakdown of roles and responsibilities. AREVA supplies nuclear islands and associated services.
  • and accelerates several partnerships between AREVA and the Indian nuclear industry.

Studies enabling the site excavation, the approval process with the Indian nuclear safety authority, and the detailed technical configuration of the Jaitapur EPR, start early 2011.

After the ceremony, Anne Lauvergeon said: “This historic agreement is the result of a long-term partnership between NPCIL and AREVA to develop EPR reactors in India. I would like to express my sincere thanks to the Indian authorities and NPCIL for putting their trust in our technologies and services. AREVA’s integrated model and technological edge has made the difference yet again, establishing a strategic position in one of the world’s most dynamic markets.”


Jarret Adams
Phone: +1 (306) 343-4637
Email: jarret.adams@areva.com

Véronique Larlham
Phone: +1 (306) 343-4503
Email: veronique.larlham@areva.com